what to bring to a cookout?

especially when the hosts say “don’t bring anything“.

I apologize, but as an invited guest to your cookout: I refuse to come empty handed.

but when this situation would arise, I’d be stumped on what to not bring.

the problem exists no longer.

firstly.. a nice, summery cocktail.

my pick: sangria.

I love using this bottled sangria. made by a favorite winery of mine: galena cellars.

just slice up some of these …

add to a pitcher of the sangria. let them magically become one in the fridge for an hour. and viola: deliciousness.

I’m a drink & dessert kind of girl.

so, the obvious next choice: cheesecake stuffed strawberries.

they are amazing magical.

[J] was eating them like pringles.

[once you pop, the fun don’t stop]

the ingredients: strawberries, cream cheese, powdered sugar, graham crackers, & vanilla extract.

hollow out the strawberries. like so :)

when you are finished, they will look like this [for a brief second, before they are devoured]:

[here is the full recipe: on iowa girl eats].

there you have it.

a summery cocktail + a fruity, decadent dessert = a happy host.

start prepping now, tomorrow is the fourth of july.

[bring on the red, white, & blue clothes I save all year long for this one day].

see ya back here tomorrow :)

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in recipes. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment