book review: the great gatsby.

{the great gatsby} is undoubtedly a classic. which I’m sure many of you were assigned to read in grade school. I was. and now that 6 years have passed since I received my high school diploma, I feel safe admitting ..I took the sparknotes route. I can’t be the only one.

it’s also a soon-to-be motion picture, coming out in may. [see the trailer {here}]. which has increased the buzz around this otherwise “forced read”. [sorry to any of my former teachers]. now that I’m older, I appreciate things much more. for example: avocados. and so I decided to really read ‘the great gatsby’.

the great gatsby

my conclusion: I’m still not old enough.

I could not, for the life of me, get involved in this book. how could I not enjoy a classic novel? It’s obviously stood the test of time for a reason. sadly, that reason is beyond me.

it’s a story of a tangled love web. with a side of cigarettes, afternoon tea, beautiful gowns, & all-night parties. taking place on long island, NY. and ends in expected tragedy.

I, of course, mean no disrespect. this is a classic. & I’m glad {The Thread Affect} & I decided to read it this month. the writing is romantic & descriptive. I just wanted the drama to truly unfold. it was there, subtly. I kept waiting for the big climatic moment.

there could be something wrong with me. maybe my expectations were too high? but regardless, if you haven’t read it ..you owe it to your grade school teacher.

make sure to go to {the thread affect} & read Megan’s review.

and stay tuned for the announcement of our fourth read.

happy thursday!

signature1

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

