DIY: blanket ladder.

ever since moving into our new place, I have been craving [yes, like I crave chocolate] a ladder, in our living room, to hang our blankets. I’ve seen these ..everywhere. [aka pinterest]. but once [J] & I began shopping for one, we realized: too expensive. not “oh my goodness I cannot afford that” but rather “it’s a ladder you can’t even climb, with THAT price?“. that kind of expensive.

so we took our happy-selves to home depot. and took on the project.

[I’d be lying if I said I made this. I didn’t – [J] did. but I could have, easily. he’s a perfectionist. and a glorified handyman. so I watched & took pictures. I could have made it!].

SONY DSC

DIY builders

[J] & I knew we’d need two side beams & we wanted four “steps”. after measuring the corner our ladder would be calling home ..we decided we wanted a 7 ft ladder, with 2 ft “steps”.

did you know home depot cuts the wood for you? I was amazed.

SONY DSC

you may want yours shorter or taller, wider or skinnier, with more steps or less. do what works best in your home – these are the measurements that worked best in ours.

building the ladder

[do any of you watch pretty little liars? if so, doesn’t it look like -A is building this?]

drill holes through the beams & into the cylinders. screw bolts & washers into the sides. [technically [J] says, this step uses a ratchet. but I’m sticking with the verb ‘screw’].

SONY DSC

boom – you have a ladder!

[do not climb. or do ..at your own risk]. I did. & survived.

now comes the painting: we used {rust-oleum satin paint & primer in one} spray paint. color: espresso brown. [we’re doing the brown & teal-ish thing in our living room]. 

SONY DSC

I love the color. 

[we only did one coat, and just touched up spots we thought could use a bit more].

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I’m in love.

it was the missing piece in our living room. the best part: it was inexpensive & we made it ourselves. oh the feeling of accomplishment.

lesson learned: if you can dream it, you can build it. and home depot will cut it. 

joke.

the real lesson: if you are craving an item, a tad out of your “willing to spend” range ..consider making it yourself. you may be surprised.

happy tuesday!

signature1

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in DIY. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DIY: blanket ladder.

  1. I love the ladder!!!!!! I never would have thought to make a ladder into a piece of beautiful AND functional decor! Very awesome.

  2. singlemamalife says:

    Love that! Looks great :)

  3. I love the ladder! I have it on my project list. I’m a fellow Iowan – I’m still here, but I travel often for work, so I get some big city benefits.

    • chelset says:

      there is nothing better than the great state of iowa, really! I thought this would be a huge project to tackle, surprisingly ..it wasn’t. but I love it so much!

Leave a Reply

