the best souvenirs.

as I mentioned last week, [J] was away on business, for 7 days. he came home for 48 hours. and off he went again ..

he travels frequently for work. it can be sudden, or planned in advance. he could be gone for a week, or a day. it’s really hard to keep up with. but you’d think after two years of living together & his schedule staying consistently inconsistent, I’d be well-adjusted. 

almost. 

I’d much prefer to travel with him; gallivanting around, while he’s working. unfortunately, that’s not always the case.

for allllll the times it’s not, he brings me back ..

the best souvenirs.

next to traveling myself, I love souvenirs. they’re thoughtful. even if it’s a knickknack you’re going to toss in a drawer, never to be seen again – they say “I was thinking of you while I was away”. it’s the thought that counts people.

what makes the best souvenir: an item that you can bring home and your loved one can experience, as if they were in the city themselves.

a few of my favorites.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC

they’re all things heavily associated with their city, at least in my mind. what’s more new orleans than hurricanes & cafe du monde? oh, beads. but what the heck would I do with those? decorate our kitchen?

a piece of the city comes home with you. for the person you wished had been there.

[J] the bar is set really high now. but whatever you do, don’t try to sneak the empire state building in your suitcase. TSA is unlikely to let you through. I’d happily settle for the TODAY show cast.
 

enjoy your tuesday.

signature1

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in travels. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

