january book club review.

insert first read: {The End Of Your Life Book Club} by will schwalbe.

the end of your life book clubthe breakdown: this book is a memoir, written from the author’s perspective. learning his mother had been diagnosed with stage 4 pancreatic cancer [“not curable, but treatable”], and their journey as a family during her last years of life. Mary Anne Schwalbe [the mother] was without a doubt an amazing, inspirational woman, who dedicated her life to enriching others. the actual book club began when Will would accompany his mother to her chemo treatments. the plot moves slowly, as it is sadly based on her last years. but the lessons learned throughout the stories are transforming.

what I thought: in the book, they dive into the true meaning of a “recommendation”. and whether or not, one is ever impartial or all encompassing. so I will not say read or don’t, but rather tell you what I thought ..& you can decide. [oh so philosophical].

I believe this book came to me at the perfect time. it without question puts life into perspective. makes my problems seem trivial, in comparison. and taught me many great lessons. that I’m excited to share.

lessons.

  • [when speaking to someone with an illness] “better to say anything rather than pretend that nothing was wrong”.
  • [mary anne was a very strong woman] “not ‘pain’ – level of discomfort”.
  • “the world is complicated ..you don’t have to have one emotion at a time”.
  • “celebrate whenever possible”.
  • [on making decisions] “choose a path that allows you to change course. offers an exit ramp”. especially when it comes to moving cities & traveling ..you can always come back.
  • the best prayers are “help me” & “thank you”.
  • “good news & bad news are often relative to your expectations, not anything absolute”.
  • “the greatest gift you can give anyone is your undivided attention“.
  • “it’s being present in the moment. when I am with you, I am with you right now. that’s all. no more, no less”. I think this is especially important nowadays! people are so wrapped up in their digital world, they often don’t focus on what is right in front of them. you may think: but chelsea you have a blog, about your life ..who could be more wrapped up? well, my memory stinks so I value documenting my life through pictures & words ..but more importantly, I make every effort to avoid picking up my phone during dinner [except to take photos of my food] or in someone else’s company.

did you read the book, what did you think? if you haven’t, did I plead a good case as to why you should? can you believe what an amazing woman mary anne schwalbe was? did she inspire you to dedicate more of your time to charity? what is your life passion? what is your favorite lesson from above?

I am thoroughly enjoying the book club. join us next month.

{read The Thread Affect’s review}

{read All Things E’s review}

stay tuned for the announcement of February’s read .. :)

happy [thirsty] thursday friends.

signature1

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to january book club review.

  1. meneksh says:

    I only just got to reading this properly because things have been so crazy this past week. Thanks for the review :) I haven’t read the book yet but I’m hoping to get hold of it. I think the last two lessons are the most poignant for me. I blog because I have a crap memory as well, but it’s too easy to get embroiled in cyber space and forget to spend time just living. My husband is the most precious thing to me in the world, and I think books like this can really bring you to the realisation of just how ephemeral (right word?) life can be, and how precious our moments are together.

Leave a Reply

