colorado. [part 1].

[part 1].

our time in the mountains. {copper mountain} to be exact.

9 family members [3 snowboarders + 6 skiers]. one whole day. 16º temperatures. and a whole lot of snow.

the day’s progression ..

copper mntlove at first sight. ahhhh!

to the mnt we goski liftthere’s no turning back now .. [me, [J], cole (my brother), & anna (his GF)].

jeff on snowboardit was snowing, mucho.

cole & annaschnapps drink upshortly after this picture, a fellow snowboarder decided steering was not his strong suit. and crashed right into [J] ..or worse, right into his left knee. he “troopered” down the remainder of the mountain, but had to be put on the temporarily disabled list [for the rest of the day]. thankfully, we had gotten 8 or 9 grrrreat runs in before this incident. and no one was disappointed to head into the lodge to warm up, & grab cocktails!

bloody marythere were zero seats available [of course] ..& I had little to no feeling in my feet, so I just plopped on the ground to enjoy my ultra spicy bloody mary. I don’t know if it was the bartender’s skill or my need for spicy [or hot] ..but it was my best bloody mary to date.

CHEERSthe entire group.

[anna, my dad, [J], brother, aunt sheri, uncle gary ..& the two little munchkins cousins: paige & colin].

we had a round of fireball shots. they warm you up from the inside out.

then the group headed back out for one last run. except [J], anna, the cousins, & I ..

we stayed in the lodge. for a second round of cocktails & hot cocoa.

round two double fistit was a great day, had by all. the only [two] things that could’ve made it better ..warmer weather + [J] avoiding injury. but regardless, we loved being on the mountain together. so we are making it a goal to get back out to colorado in the spring ..for more mountain time. spring skiing is generally more enjoyable ..[higher temps, more snow].

[part 2] comin’ on monday.

happy hump day wednesday.

signature1

 

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in travels. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to colorado. [part 1].

  1. Pingback: let’s review: | little lessons in a BIG city

  2. SingleMama says:

    Glad you had fun! I am heading to colorado next week to ski (and I have not skiied since I was 13), ugh.

Leave a Reply

