welcome 2013, with open arms.

2012 you’ve been an adventure, to say the least. but I am not hesitant to say goodbye. I have a much better feeling about what’s to come in 2013.

I spent the last day of 2012, in the car. road tripping from colorado back to illinois. the entire day. [we got home NINE MINUTES before the clock struck midnight]. I had a lot of time to ponder what I want out of the new year. and how the heck I’m going to get it.

so, I took a couple hours. a piece of paper. 5 categories. and created a list of goals I will work to achieve throughout the year. [I did something similar last year, but my goals were lofty. and lost sight of them quickly. but I learned my lesson, and have a new approach].

meet my ..

2013 goalsfinancial.

  • create a monthly budget.
  • save all receipts, to track my spending.
  • put 2% of every pay check into a “no touch” savings account.

health.

  • run a 5k. [this is lofty for me. I’m not a runner. tips on how to get started or great 5k’s out there would be oh so appreciated].
  • join a gym.
  • go once a week. [minimum. last year I went straight to 5x’s, and when I failed the first week, I quit. whoops. being a little more realistic in 2013].
  • try 5 new workout classes.
  • take vitamins every day.
  • don’t drink a single sip of soda. [which shouldn’t be too hard. I don’t usually drink soda, but had a couple moments of weakness in 2012].
  • weigh yourself on the first of every month. [this is just so I can track my weight throughout the year].

LLinaBC blog.

  • post 5x per week.
  • sponsor two blogs per month. [who should be my january picks?!]
  • become more involved in the blogging community!
  • attend 1 blogger meetup/event. [I’ve always wanted to, but I’m now ready for my first].

travel.

  • go to europe [again]. with [J].
  • visit northern california. [I’ve only been to SoCal, but am dreaming of a trip to napa + san fran].
  • explore four new cities.
  • go spring skiing in colorado. [I haven’t since my early college spring break years, but the weather is so perfect. much more than the 8° temps we had in december].

personal.

  • read 1 book per month.
  • [continue] to alternate date month. [starting with me in january].
  • be in our own apartment by april 1st. [we’re hoping this will happen much sooner, but like I said ..my goals are much more achievable this year].
  • do a DIY project once a month. [I sincerely enjoy crafting ..so I’m going to make it a point to do more. which I will share, success or failure].

so there you have it. the list of goals I have created for myself in 2013. to ensure I stay on track the entire year, I have made it impossible for me to go through a single day without seeing them. they’re on my phone, laptop background, hanging on our message [cork] board. I have also created excel docs for the harder ones to track [ie. monthly weigh in, blog sponsorships, & completed books]. I placed those in my master binder. where I keep all things important to me.. health, finance, blog, etc-related.

I am more determined than ever to embrace this turning of a leaf.. & to make it the best year yet!

[I will be posting my 2012 year in review on thursday.. dun, dun, dun. but even better, tomorrow part 1 of my CO vacation.. in the mountains].

happppppppppy 2013 all.

may we all have a happy, healthy year ahead.

[ps: head over to {sunny with a chance of sprinkles} and enter the giveaway I am co-hosting. $75 to amazon. BOOM!].

dec giveaway sunny with a chance

signature1

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to welcome 2013, with open arms.

  1. Pingback: how I spent my weekend. | little lessons in a BIG city

  2. Love so many of these ideas! Want to start a blog book club to help stick to the monthly book?

  3. Gail says:

    Try the Ease Into 5K app. I love it. It has you run/walk intervals and tells you when to do so, but also lets you play music. I’m totally not a runner either, but it builds you up to running longer over the weeks. Good luck!

    • chelset says:

      Gail – thank you!! I just got the app and I’m so happy you told me about it. looks like the perfect tool to get me started. I’m going to start today!! thank you again. xo!

Leave a Reply

