just when I start to think I’m creative ..

the annual gingerbread house competition rolls around. and brings me right back to square one.

[J] & I have had two prior of said “competitions”. the first year [2009] I had to twist his arm ..and was ready to SQUASH blow him away with my skills. but that didn’t happen. the opposite did. he won. his skills blew me away. I was half sore loser & half just plain impressed.

then came year two [2011]. I had underestimated my competition before, but wouldn’t let that happen again. I was now bringing my A game. or so I thought. until .. I lost AGAIN. hello shot straight to my ego. I’m the girl. I’m supposed to one-up him in the crafty, cooking, artsy departments. but I don’t ..

it’s been a year. and I’m clearly not over my last devastating loss ..

but guess what I was greeted with the other night?

news of a 2012 FAMILY gingerbread house competition.

[with [J]’s family]
 

shoot me in the foot.

as much as I love holiday activities ..I am not ready to make my humiliation public family-wide.

so, I need a strategy. a “go to”. a floor plan, if you will.

in steps my friend, pinterest ..

gingerbread2 gingerbread3 gingerbread 1{1}/{2}/{3}

I’m also trying to keep in mind the one thing I’ve learned through two failed attempts: don’t buy the candy you want to eat. why? because you’re not buying it to look good on your house. you’re buying it to taste good in your mouth. end of story.

it’s on friday night ..

wish me luck. [& little, to no family humiliation].

I’ll need it.
 

6 day 'til christmas[& my shopping is finally done. BOOM!]

happy hump day.

signature1

 
 
About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in DIY. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

