new york city [part II].

this was my return trip. the first time I have been back since moving away, 8 months ago.

if you’ve moved away from anywhere, you know the feeling ..you long for your friends, the familiar sights, the established routine, the scrumptious food. all of it.

welp, that’s me & new york. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on a plane ticket back for a visit. even just for a glimpse of the skyline. honestly. but I got better; two whole days, to do with whatever I wanted. I shared a portion of {part I} on monday. that was the sight-seeing, touristy portion. today I share the other part; the “pretend I still live in NYC, casually meet up with my friends, doing what we’ve always done” part. [I really loved this].

meet my

SONY DSCmaybe not serious. but busy. from the second we landed, he was off being important. I saw him this once, for lunch. consisting of ..

SONY DSCI knew he’d be busy. I hadn’t planned for much together time. [even though some would’ve been nice].

SONY DSC

I did a splendid job filling my time. if I do say so myself.

on night one, I took the train from our hotel in astoria to my friend, Ben’s apartment. on the upper, upper west side of manhattan. he made me an offer I couldn’t resist – an italian feast ..with wine. [he knows me too well].

homemade italianI had every intention of BTS* out of our evening. but I forgot my camera; I was hungry. & nervous I might get lost on the subway. and so I had to settle for broken android photos. ben will not be happy, so forgive the quality of the above & below. [BTS* blog that shit/blogging the shit].

meet

benjiafter dinner, I scrutinized his lack of christmas decorations [according to him]. and he introduced me to {HBO’s: Girls}. which made me feel SO uncomfortable, yet very intrigued. [thank you benji].

on day two, I dedicated the entire day to my former coworkers. & williamsburg [brooklyn]. actually the plan was to meet for lunch ..we had “lunch” until 11PM :)

meet

SONY DSC

I worked directly with these two every single day, for a year & a half. it was so good to see them again. uber amounts of catching up were had.

SONY DSCthe rest of the night went something like this …

SONY DSC SONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSC

sorry chicago, I’m participating in a love affair with new york city.

[no, we’re still not moving back].
 

I ♥ NYC

hahaha. no, but really.

happy thursday!!

signature1

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in travels. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to new york city [part II].

  1. Your NY adventure looks like a blast! I looooove NYC but have never had the chance to spend that much time there, hopefully someday soon though. How are you liking living in Chicago? Seriously so proud to say that I come from there, there’s always so much fun stuff to do! :)

    • chelset says:

      chicago is a great city – the architecture, the neighborhoods, the undying love for their sports teams, the diversity, the never-ending food & drink options …and it’s so much cleaner than nyc! it is also much closer to my family. and I am without a doubt a midwesterner at heart. sadly, I haven’t had the best “chicago experience,” which I will solely chalk up to a draining job search. but besides that – only love!!

  2. Elle Noel says:

    New Follower here! LOVED reading about NYC! My man and are planning a trip early next year to visit a friend- can’t wait! Oh and I literally LOL’d at BTS. Do I have your permission to steal? Hysterical! Hope you’re having a great day lady!

    • chelset says:

      absolutely use BTS! I sadly can’t even take REAL credit for the term. my BF’s good friend created it during a 5 hour road trip we were on ..he held up his coffee & said you better BTS. {http://littlelessonsinabigcity.com/2012/10/30/tis-the-season-for-a-wedding/} oh the lives we lead as bloggers. haha! when you’re in NYC – go to the meatball shop! and if you’re not counting calories [which you shouldn’t on vacation] go to artichoke basille ..their artichoke pizza – no words! yes, I’m the go to on food spots. and drinking holes – just ask!!!! thank you for visiting me!! xo :)

  3. Stopping by from Mish’s blog! I live in New York now after moving here from DC last year. The Meatball shop was one of the first places I went to once I was settled :) Soooooo good! Happy to have found your blog! xo

    • chelset says:

      ahhh, how are you LOVING new york city? it’s so amazing. my favorite part was no matter how many times I walked the same streets, I’d see something brand new every time. incredible. on the topic of the meatball shop – I should NOT have even gone there. I’ve thought about it every single day since eating that gravy-meatball-mashed tater deliciousness. [plus their gourmet jello shots]. I’m envious of your proximity! :) ..I’m so happy you stopped by to visit my blog – I’ll have to follow yours ..& live vicariously through your NYC adventures!! xo

Leave a Reply

