the joys of deals.

there are many.

but today we discuss a blunder [a bad egg, if you will].

[J]’s mom purchased a groupon for two no-chip manicures & two pedicures. and kindly let me be her tag-along. naturally, I was excited. who turns down an opportunity to be pampered? not I.

this place was new to both of us. but it was a good deal, so we took the risk ..

and lost.

whatever am I talking about? let me show & tell.

1. we were the only people in there. always makes you wonder.

2. mr. manicurist took two smoke breaks mid-mani/pedi. so pleasant when we’re sharing intimate air space.

3. I loved the color I picked out for both my fingers & toes – glittery red. ’tis the season. then I saw the end product ..

mani at beststill love the color. but seriously wondering if I should’ve tipped extra for the skin painting? [I’m hoping this bad boy doesn’t last the projected two weeks ..]

4. the least of our worries was our pedicures, until ..the shop owner became very concerned our socks & boots would damage our polish. her solution: paint our toes with grease oil and cover them in glorified sandwich bags. then we were allowed to put our shoes back on.

sack lunch

n.o. w.o.r.d.s

right?

pedicure5. oh and they forgot to put a top coat on my pedicure.

joy to the world. we’ll never return there again.

and as always for those blunders, they make for great stories.

[this was just toooo good to keep to myself].

[and yes, I’m wearing flannel santa PJ’s].

signature1

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in fashion & beauty. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to the joys of deals.

  1. Pingback: the week in photos. | little lessons in a BIG city

  2. Jaime says:

    Haha omg. I can’t believe the plastic bags over your toes. I’ve never seen anything like that before.

  3. I’ve had this unfortunate experience with Groupon mani/pedis before as well!! It’s so frustrating but then I realize it’s why it seemed like it was too good to be true!!! Love the color you picked tho!

  4. chelset says:

    constant motion & if someone asks to “see my manicure” ..I must respond with frrrrom a distance. 13 days left!! :)

  5. Shelly says:

    Yikes! Tragic. Glad you didn’t pay for it yourself. Color is nice, though. Maybe if you keep your hands in constant motion, no one will notice. Ha!

Leave a Reply

