painted pumpkins.

[J] is practically Martha Stewart. and if he was a female, she’d be out of a job. he’s great, at basically everything: “man” things & crafty things. it’s unfair [I think]. & every christmas season, I challenge him to a gingerbread house competition…

I always lose.

but clearly, never learn my lesson. because I challenged him to a pumpkin painting competition last night. neither of us have EVER painted a pumpkin before, so I thought it’d be “fair“. we gathered supplies – aka a box of trader joe’s wine. and went to town!

[prepped & ready].
 
[is the most important supply the paint? nope, it’s the wine!]
 

here’s the process I took on my white chevron pumpkin:

if it looks easy, it’s not. I was pretty sure I’d have another pinterest fail on my hands. but the chevron turned out. then I took it another step, of course

I got an OWL stencil. but common sense was not on my side ..pumpkins are not flat. therefore pretty impossible to use a stencil on. so I had to freehand the owl. grrr! before I unveil the finished product …

here’s a couple shots of [J] mid-competition …

drummmmm rollllllllll please.

the finished products …

his.

&

hers.

[the photos are mediocre at best. the sun had been down for hours by the time we finished last night. so I’m going to take these beauties outside today & re-capture].

how do you like them?

I picked [J] as the winner. he free-handed everything! & his pumpkin looks amazing.

they are both VERY different. his screams “I’m a man & love football” & mine screams “I’m a girl & spend tooooo much time on pinterest“. the important thing is: we had fun!

check it off the fall bucket list!! :)

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in DIY. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to painted pumpkins.

  1. Lindsey says:

    So cute! I also tried [and failed] a chevron pumpkin. Yours does look better than mine! J did an amazing job with his!

Leave a Reply

