I’m not in college anymore.

in other words – this weekend kicked my butt.

I slept twelve hours last night – & feel like I could sleep twelve more AND STILL not be recovered. my voice has the rasp of a man’s. & my eyes are so puffy [aka: deprived of water], I can barely see out of them. true.

but it was worth it – I had the best time. we spent thursday & most of friday in my hometown, visiting family.

[grandma trying out my new kicks].
 
[we all ate lunch at carlos o’ kellys – home of my brother & I’s high school jobs].
 

and friday evening, we were off to Iowa City.. land of the hawkeyes. we celebrated our friend’s birthday with hibatchi & dancing at the towniest of towny bars [& loved it].

[the birthday girl].
 
[delicious sushi. & of course, sake bombs!!].
 

then came very little rest. and our tailgate marathon. the game started @ 7PM, we arrived to PARTY @ 10AM ..so yes – a marathon, to say the least. jello shots, rumchata, & beeeers, OH MY!

[back in our element – Iowa City, IA].
 
[ANF: america needs farmers].
 
[TWINSIES!!!].
 
[jello shots].
 
[friends].
 
[FAMILY].
 

it’s a miracle we made it to the game, standing. we had great seats [thank you parents]. and regardless of the hawkeyes terribly poor performance ..we had the best time!

[the black & gold game].
 
[post-game. can you tell? at Old Chicago].
 

sunday morning we met my grandparents in my favorite little iowa town – the amana colonies. we ate. we shopped. we wine tasted. and we drank every micro-brew the town had to offer.

[how CUTE & FESTIVE was the dessert lady at the Ox Yoke Inn?].
 
[the family].
 
[who wouldn’t want a giant pink elephant in their yard?].
 
[Millstream Brewery].
 
[drinks with the family, on the patio].
 
 

then [J] & I made our long trip back to chicagoland. and I went straight to bed.

[visit two coins photography for more of the weekend’s photos].

until tomorrow friends… :)

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in travels. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m not in college anymore.

  1. Pingback: let’s review: | little lessons in a BIG city

  2. So many things to comment on…First, reading your post really made me miss home and everything to go with it. Second, you hit up so many of my favorite places (Carlos, Amanas, Kinnick, Old Chicago)! Third, I think you correctly said it when Iowa played TERRIBLE and that we just can’t hang like we used to in college! Happens with old age! :( Glad you had so much fun at home!

Leave a Reply

