our weekend in des moines.

I hope everyone had an amazing weekend.

[J] & I got home late sunday night from iowa. and were so exhausted, I was functioning at about 60% all day monday. but am happy to say ..I’m now recovered.

we left friday morning, to join our friends for their pre-wedding festivities [couples shower, bachelor/ette parties]. in des moines, IA.

[I anticipated this photo the entire two hours it took us to get to the iowa border. my expectations were higher, but it turned out ok – for being in a moving car, going 75mph].

the couple’s shower was a casual backyard party; complete with a margarita station, the groom’s home-brewed beer [which was delicious], a scrumptious italian buffet, a game of bags/”cornhole”, and re-purposed wine bottle lanterns as centerpieces. everyone had a blast and I loved catching up with friends I haven’t seen in awhile!

then came saturday..

the boys left mid-morning, destination: only God knows, for the bachelor party. it’s still a mystery to me. but I had more important things on my mind – like changing into my black & gold and heading off to a bar to watch the iowa hawkeyes. which I did, with my Aunt! the weather was gorgeous, so we sat outside – ate, drank, & watched iowa beat minnesota.

[classy ladies – i think. the purse on the left, I got my aunt on hautelook. love!]

then came the bachelorette festivities… which began with a sushi & hibachi dinner.

always guaranteed to be a great time. but this place did something I have never experienced at a hibachi restaurant …

the chef shot SAKE at us. and you had two options: take it like a champ OR pay the consequences [being drenched in sake].

[the bride!!]

my first turn: he got sake in my eye, so I turned away [natural reaction] ..well he kept on shooting sake at the side of my head. I got drenched. my second turn: I took the bottle right out of his hands, helped myself, and didn’t spill a drop.

[all the gals].

[J] & I had so much fun – we can’t wait for the wedding at the end of the month!!

on our way home, I conveniently needed coffee as we were approaching Iowa City.  we were there once last year for one day. and I miss it. we both have a lot of memories in that small town – including it being where we met, six years ago. so we took a joy ride through town. then stopped in the middle for [J] to ..

clean the windshield.

while I took photos …

then we were back on the road …

[a picture I took in the car ..#nofilter – just a gorgeous night].

until next time IOWA …

happy tuesday.

[I can’t believe it’s october already].

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in travels. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to our weekend in des moines.

  1. Pingback: let’s review: | little lessons in a BIG city

  2. Pingback: the week in photos. | little lessons in a BIG city

Leave a Reply

