“the perfect time”.

The theme of the “perfect time” has been coming up a lot lately, in my own life.

When is the “perfect time“?

I love to be the messenger of good news, and like most people dread the opposite. So I often find myself waiting for the “perfect time” to come. Like a lightning bolt is going to strike me and BAM ..its time ..I now have more courage than the second before to deliver the bad news. NO! That is ridiculous, but often times the thought that goes through my head. I’ll wait to tell because its a BAD TIME. What I’m learning is ..its always a bad time to deliver bad news.

It’s like ripping off a band-aid ..do it fast.

The longer you wait, the harder it gets. The stickier the situation you find yourself in. Rip it off and don’t look back. The stars are never going to align when it comes to being the bearer of bad news. The red stop light is not going to magically turn green. This is in your head [my head], just do it.

In the past couple weeks, I have delivered & received more than my fair share of unfortunate news. We’re talking everything from calling a client to say “something went wrong” to news I hope to only deliver & receive once in my life. My advice on the delivery: rip the band-aid off, fast. Don’t let the voices in your head tell you to “wait, its not the right time”. You will feel 1,000 lbs lighter the second you get that off your shoulders. My advice for receiving: it sucks to hear, but are you glad you know? Most likely, yes. I’ll be honest its not a great time for me to receive earth shattering news, but is it ever? No. Am I happier I know? Yes. Would it be worse if I found out later? Yes.

There you have it: don’t wait. And next time I’m scared too pick up the phone and just do it ..I’m going to read this [a little self motivation for the soul]. Here’s to hoping this post will ward off all negative news ..at least for a little while!

ps. the weekend is near :)

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in wise words. and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “the perfect time”.

  1. Pingback: iowa meet NYC goes to CHICAGO. |

Leave a Reply

