lincoln, washington, jefferson.

As I mentioned on Friday, I forced [J] to take me with him to Washington D.C on his business trip. We had two short days in the city. And I was on a mission to see as much as I possibly could. So we slept very little and did an awful lot. [note: this was my first time in D.C. check it off the list].

day 1: we worked. the entire day [11AM-10PM]. Let’s just say I am a great helper [you’re welcome BF]. the location: Nationals Park, home of the MLB Washington Nationals.

but for “work” ..we still had a blast! Did you know they have a Build-A-Bear store in their baseball stadium? What a genius idea! We took a tour of the park. And got to venture into the most exclusive suites, the player’s locker room, and …the batting cages – where [J] took a couple swings courtesy of a National’s pitcher. Then we hit the field! I loved it.

On our way back to the hotel, I caught my first glimpse of the Washington Monument and snapped a pic from the car window. We got room service & off to BED [we had a HUGE day ahead of us].

[ice cream sundae. yum!]

day 2: we walked the city; the entire city. I had to see everything! [or as much as I could in such a short period of time]. We saw the beautiful Abe Lincoln, the Washington Monument, the Jefferson Memorial, the WWII memorial, Ford’s Theatre, the Petersen House [where Lincoln died], the White House, the Holocaust Memorial Museum, the Capitol, and the National Mall. [note: the reflecting pool at the National Mall is being renovated. to be completed late this year].

insert couple photo :)

insert “I was overly excited, out of my mind” picture:

And obviously we celebrated St. Pat’s … [with Guinness and Bangers & Mash].

It was a long, amazing, jam-packed two days. I cannot wait to go back to D.C. and see what we didn’t have a chance to! But let’s just say I was excited to do NOTHING on Sunday. There were many, many more photos captured ..they’re courtesy of [J] at two coins photography. [check them out ..they’re fun. & artsy].

happppppppy [manic] monday.

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in travels. and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to lincoln, washington, jefferson.

  1. Pingback: let’s review: | little lessons in a BIG city

Leave a Reply

