workoutervention.

I want to workout. Really! But lately I’ve been leaving work [according to me] “pretty late”. The particular time I’m referring to is 6:30-7ish. There’s nothing like a late home arrival to kill your fitness buzz. You know the phrase, “in a New York minute“? It’s supposed to mean everything here is faster. Which is true if you ask the man RUNNING down the escalator, nearly taking me out, to get to a train. On the other hand, you have the “New York tourist minute,” which is a much slower, enjoy the scenery approach. My daily commute runs more parallel to the tourist’s speed. Not because I’m a slow walker, I walk so fast & dodge so many people/objects.. I break a sweat. Truly. In clock terms, if I leave my office at 7PM, I will walk through my front door [pending construction & train delays] at 7:45PM. Hello, that’s practically my bedtime. Especially when you factor in “making & eating dinner” time. Not even taking into consideration, the frequent post-work grocery stop and that I’m only thinking of food by 7PM.

{BuzzFeed}

workoutervention:

I have tried to make adjustments in my work load (ie. doing projects at home, staying at the office later to knock out ‘to do’ list items that could wait). But my job is unpredictable, and no matter how much I “plan,” things come up last minute. So that ..failed. I’ve also tried the “schedule your workouts like meetings” approach. Which also yielded, no success. My workouts [shouldn’t be, but ..] are optional, whereas a work appointment, not so much. I’ve ate lunch later, to hold off dinner time. etc, etc, etc. You get the idea!

conclusion:

I must become an early riser and get my workout in before making my journey to the office. If this works, it will truly be a miracle. [For 4 years, every day, 5:45AM dance practices. In my mind, I am still making up those long lost hours]. You’re probably thinking, “you’re a (somewhat) grown adult, learn to wake up!” or “just you wait until you have kids“. Or maybe you’re not, but that’s what I’m thinking!

 {icanread.tumblr.com}

Any “get your [insert profanity] out of bed” wisdom, tips, or strategies ..I am all ears! I’m first going to try the “you’re a big girl, you can do it“. If that fails, I am willing to go as far as giving [J] a “boot me out of bed” pass.

The first GO will be tomorrow. How fitting? March 1st. Wish me luck, because sadly this “cherisher of sleep” is going to need it.

HAPPY LEAP DAY :) 

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in Health. and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

