“let your happiness be contagious”

I’ve always tried to be the “learn from your mistakes” & “never regret” kind of person. Most of the time, I succeed. Sometimes prove more difficult than others. I hate being a grump. If its not evident, I locate the source of my attitude ..and adjust it [as my mom would say]. If it is evident, I talk myself through it. Weigh my options, the pros & the cons. I almost always come out with a better outlook. [It usually takes time alone, in sweats, with a glass of wine, and a sappy or comedic movie ..situation-depending].

Let’s be honest, heartache is a huge, unforgettable ouch that [I’d say] is one time or another inevitable in life. It’s all about how you let it affect you & how you react.

On St. Patrick’s day 2008, I was experiencing a big, painful kick to the heart. I’m pretty sure I went through the 7 stages of grief in less than a 24 hour period, alongside two of my good friends, multiple champagne bottles, and a lot of Irish beer [oh to be young, yuck].

Everyone fast asleep, except me. The alcohol wore off, the sting was back, and I layed there staring at the ceiling. After 1, 2, 3 hours ..I got a piece of paper & a pen. I went wild, did not stop to breathe, just wrote. The end result … 

“Life …it’s full of decisions; big decisions, life changing decisions that once you make, you can’t go back. It is pointless to regret! Every choice you make is based on something you wanted at that point in time. Down the road you may look back and wish you had picked a different path, but you just have to remember .. 1) it WAS what you wanted, 2) good things come from EVERY decision, 3) and because of your choice you will grow as a person. Plus who’s to say if you got a second chance the other path would be better? You will NEVER know! It is important to remember everything thrown at you …bad or good it is meant to help you learn & grow. Life is all about making the best of what you have! Things could always be better, of course, but they could also be A LOT worse. Every single day is a gift, a blessing, a chance to make it better than the day before. Wake up & smile …be grateful. Life is not suppose to be easy, it would be a lot less interesting if it was. Every bump in the road is a chance for you to show the world how strong you are, that life takes unexpected turns but you’re more than willing to be a part of the ride. Every time you are hurt there is ALWAYS a bright side. At first it might be cloudy and difficult to see anything past your hurt, but eventually it will clear. It is normal to feel down but make sure you’re not giving too much time and thought to something undeserving. Your time is precious and should be spent with a smile on your face. You should strive to be the person that people look at and can’t help but smile. Let your happiness be contagious.

I saved that piece of paper, spotted with tears & smeared words. The boy who sparked the heartache, drinking, and this inspirational outpour is now the one I live with and can’t get enough of. Oh, young love and its rollercoaster rides. The story ends like this ..he found the original paper, framed it, and hung it on my wall. Things could have been worse, but its more or less a reminder ..there’s light at the end of tunnel ..you just have to keep movin’ & get there. enjoy :)

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in wise words. and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

