the “in a hurry, but don’t look it” look.

We all have those mornings. Ya know, the ones you hit snooze one [or three] too many times. Or the mornings your alarm clock “never went off“. It’s a part of life. The question is ..do you have a fool-proof plan in place to ensure it doesn’t wreck your day?

Well, I do. Because let’s be honest ..I enjoy sleeping, napping, & “resting with my eyes closed” [a phrase I learned from Grandma]. So I encounter “in a hurry” mornings all too frequently. (Whoops ..I’m a work in progress folks).

Can you say “the best part of waking up is Folgers in your cup“? It is for me. And regardless of the time [or lack of] ..I pour my cup of joe first thing. I set my coffee pot every night, without fail, to automatic brew at 7:06AM. Then when I wake up, all I have to do is pour. It definitely assists in the wake up process.

My ‘in a hurry’ face essentials:

  •  Clinique Superbalanced Powder Makeup (w/ SPF 15) – Spin the dial and voila ..you have loose powder. Quick, easy, and does its job providing just enough coverage & ensuring my face looks refreshed.
  • Clinique Blushing Blush Powder (Shade: Sunset Glow) – Most mornings I wake up with my face a ghostly white color, so blush is essential. Every day. I go with the more natural looking, coral tones.
  • Maybelline Cover Stick Concealer – I refuse to run out of this product. I always have an extra on hand. Goodbye “I had a long night” dark circles. Goodbye irritated, red blemish. This is basically my go to tool. If I could only use one product every morning, it’d be this. Lifesaver, miracle worker, best friend – thank you. (And yes, this is an ‘available at your local drugstore’ product – meaning readily available, and priced right).
  • Maybelline Great Lash Clear Mascara – If you’ve seen any of my pictures/know me ..you are aware my eyebrows have a mind of their own. They are my ARCHnemesis [pun intended]. They cannot be controlled, but I can sure make my best attempt at taming them ..that is why I use this clear mascara – to tame those beasts. It’s completely necessary I at least try!
  • L’Oreal Paris Voluminous Million Lashes – When I’m in a hurry, I am OK with skipping eyeliner. But I don’t skip mascara. [I want to somewhat appear to have eyes]. This particular mascara is fairly new to me [a week or more] and I’m in love. I do not have long lashes, but with this mascara on ..I will fool the world. I love the brush, the gold tube, and that I got it free at BlogHer ’11 ..but I am now a believer and will purchase this product from now on.

My ‘in a hurry’ hair:

I’m lucky in the sense that I have ‘fuss-free’ hair. It’s naturally straight and 89% of the time, I could wake up, do nothing with it, & look presentable-ish. But when it is or isn’t cooperating, I have a ‘go to’ that is easy and looks like I put in the extra effort. Say hello to my two-strand french twist.

Excuse the frizz – sleeping 6 hrs on a plane & having no “fix it” time wears on a person’s hair.

After years of trying to teach me how to french braid, my [former hairstylist] mom gave up. Realizing I was desperate to learn something other than how to execute a ponytail, my mom showed me the life-changing two-strand french twist. It’s in the same ‘family’ as a french braid, but it’s the easier, equally-pretty one. [The best quality, easiest tutorial to follow of this is by Kate over at The Small Things Blog. I tend to twist mine a little bit further than Kate. See above.]

Don’t forget your ‘in a hurry’ outfit. I am lucky to work in a very creative, relaxed environment. We appreciate jeans. And when it’s weather-appropriate ..even my bright pink rainboots. So my ‘go to’ is probably different than most. But when in a hurry, I grab a pair of dark jeans and either a sweater (when it’s the middle of winter, like now) or a shirt, matched with one of my many colorful, or not so colorful cardigans. Add a scarf or a necklace ..and you’ll probably fool a bunch of people into believeing you got up when you were suppose to.

The end result ..

 oh, the semi-kiss face.. it plagues almost all my pictures.

Now you’re ready to take on the day ..bright-eyed & refreshed. [Or at least pretending to be]. Peace, love, concealer, & coffee :)

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in fashion & beauty. and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the “in a hurry, but don’t look it” look.

  1. {av} says:

    I’m BEYOND impressed that’s your in a hurry look. I look like an absolute frizzy mess! I love the idea of “resting with your eyes closed”–that’s too funny and too true ;) So happy to have stumbled on your blog! I’m a Hoosier who moved to DC for school and now I call Rhode Island home! xoxo {av}

    • chelset says:

      Thank you {av}! I am lucky my hair is fairly low-maintenance, especially since I know how to do very little with it. [very, very little]. Oh doesn’t the East coast give you a different view of the Midwest. No matter how long I live here, I will appreciate where I came from. Thank you [again] for visiting. [Love yours]. Go Hawkeyes! ;)

Leave a Reply

