Fall: defined.

Hello OCTOBER!

I could not be more excited to welcome fall. I love this time of year – the weather, the activities, the food & drinks ..all perfection. When I think of fall, I think of …

Tailgating …

Can you say amazingly, delicious finger food, an insane assortment of alcoholic beverages, and entertaining company! :)

Football …

Obviously I root for my alma mater – the University of Iowa. Go Hawkeyes!

[Absolute fall perfection] – the atmosphere of being at a football game, or at a bar cheerin’ for your team, or laying on the couch on a NFL football Sunday.

Road trips …

I love, love, love a good fall road trip <3.

chicago – the magic bean.
But the absolute best fall road trip – Galena, IL. In my family, when fall rolls around a trip to Galena is essential. The historic, little town is a destination all year ..but it is really beautiful when outlined by the fall-shaded leaves! [Yup, just made up “fall-shaded“. Defined by – the crazy, bright reds and oranges the leaves change only in the fall]. Say hello to great restaurants, art galleries, boutique shops, pretty riverwalk, breweries, and my mom & I’s favorite ..the wineries! [To be specific: the wine tasting at Galena Cellars on Main Street. Try the Oktoberfest. Yum!]
 

Galena, IL

Halloween …

What is more fun than a holiday that incoporates dressing up, carving pumpkins, and eating too much candy?

stencils are a must for me.

Loofah or cotton candy? The question of the decade, really.

 

Now that I am no longer in college and living on the East coast, my definition of fall will need to be updated a bit. You better believe I am flying home [in TEN days] to get my Hawkeye tailgating fix. And since I’m not making the millions [yet] and can’t fly back for every single game ..I will be rootin’ for the Hawks from NY. I am also wearing green this season, rootin’ for the NY Jets – what, what!! :) And I can’t get in my car & drive to Galena this fall ..(I don’t have a car & Galena is approximately 960 miles away) but I am planning some road trips [ie. Boston, Philly]. I’m ready for the change ..it’s not better, just different.

Happy Fall :)

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

