if you were in New York tonight ..9/11/11

I am pretty sure God is trying to tell me something. On Labor Day, I received a call from my mom ..they [my parents] were in the hospital. They were driving home on a motorcycle, when another motorcycle going the opposite way lost control, crossed the median, and hit my parents. Although commonsense would tell me ..my mom is on the phone w/ me = she must be ok ..my emotions got the best of me & I was hysterical. All I could think about was if they had not been so lucky ..(I suggest refraining from the “what if” thinking). They/we/my family were lucky. Besides a few broken bones, they are healthy and more importantly still with us.

Today was also rough on me [aka I cried, a lot] ..for many reasons I’ve concluded. The World Trade site is a huge part of my daily life now ..I see it when I walk out of my apartment, I see it when I’m walking to & from work. Add to that all of the heart-wrenching footage & the live memorial service. Include the “working in a semi-tall building, blocks away from Ground Zero” fear I usually don’t let surface. AND you have water works/me a mess.

But today/this week could not have ended better. My dad reminded me, “go outside and get a picture of the beams of light tribute”. Absolutely breathtaking ..the prettiest I have ever seen the New York skyline. I “borrowed” Jeff’s fancy camera and snapped some pictures, along w/ thousands of others. So – If you were in New York Tonight [9/11/11] ..

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lesson learned: Life is precious. Cherish each & every moment. No day but today.

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to if you were in New York tonight ..9/11/11

  1. jeff cahill says:

    You certainly have a way with words. I am sitting here in grandma’s kitchen reading this and looking at the pictures. Thanks for sharing and how can I get a poster?

  2. Tami Cahill says:

    Wow Chels, I love your words written today. I was water works as well so you weren’t alone as I know many today shed tears in rememberance of that day 10 years ago. Thanks for sharing your pictures and how lucky for you to be in a place that is not only honored for the lives lost and sacrificed by so many in the U.S. and abroad, but also a place that you can see daily that reminds those who see it of our resiliance and strength as a nation. GOD is watching over us! XOXOX

Leave a Reply

