“what can happen in 1 month?”

the night before my move to NYC

A little over a month ago, I was recently graduated and living at home with my parents ..very few cares in the world. Then January 7th rolled around ..the day before I got on my one-way flight to New York City. I won’t ever be able to describe with words what I was feeling that day, but with any drastic life change ..there were ups & downs; excited for the new chapter ahead, but sad to close the books on the one before. Yet, I never once regretted the decision to jump head first out of college and into NYC.

Well here I am ..37 days into ‘Chapter New York’ and I am loving it. No matter what is to come, I couldn’t be happier with my decision! Now, let’s recap …. :)

I arrived at LaGuardia airport late on January 8th and Jeff was there to greet me (& snap a ‘fresh off the plane’ picture).

"AHHH I made it!!!"

On day 1, I was lucky enough to experience traffic in the city. Let’s just say, I am so happy to NOT have a car here. Besides the overwhelming traffic (I’m from IOWA), drivers do not pay any attention to lane lines. I had my eyes closed the majority of the car ride.

woo hoo nyc

The first 2 weeks were spent here …

the fun of job searching.

Mucho coffee, loads of job posts, and sixteen days later ..I had my first interview!! Which coincidentally ended up being my first & only interview, because ..seven days later I started my job as an Account Coordinator at a marketing firm. And I love my job; the people, the work, the perks, and the location ..

I work on Wall Street :)

I guess I’m just proof that not everyone who works on Wall Street is a wealthy, investment banker. HA :)

A few other odds & ends of my ‘Chapter New York’ 37 days in …

Bryant Park.

And when Jeff & I made our first dinner, we pulled out all the stops …

shells & cheese ...and some delicious wine :)

Fortunately during my time of ‘unemployment/job searching,’ I had a lot of time on my hands so I stepped up my cooking game. I visited my Irish roots by making shepard’s pie, which I believe was delicious. And since New York has had its worst winter, what is better than some spicy chili?

yummmm :)

I love the weekends ..quality time w/ my roommates! And when Jeff is away on business, I force myself upon my others, David & Annie and their outings! Two weeks ago, we went out for dinner and to a little dive bar for drinks in the village, and …I had my first celebrity spotting!!

John Mayer; in all of his poorly groomed, but still great glory!

Picture time … :)

central park :) rainy day in the city.

night out in our neighborhood :)

the Kardashian's boutique in SoHo.

"I love my new city!!!!" :)

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “what can happen in 1 month?”

  1. Pingback: the man behind the brackets. | little lessons in a BIG city

  2. chelset says:

    I don’t know if New York City is ready for you & Jeff together. But I definitely think you should come visit!! & as far as the cooking blog, ask Jeff ..I am extremely lacking in the culinary department. Or I’m just to lazy to grocery shop & cook nice meals every night. I’ll need to explore a different niche!

  3. Joeeeeee says:

    love the blog chelssss…. take some advice from “Julie & Julia,” or whatever the movie is and blog about your BIG CITY cooking haha…. i hope to come and visit soon:)

Leave a Reply

