“It’s about time!”

The title is speaking to me ..and my lack of updating the world of what’s been going on!!

I am officially a graduate of the University of Iowa. The ceremony took place on December 18th, 2010 and my diploma is in the mail. The best part of graduation was easily being the VERY last person to walk across the stage and graduate from Iowa in the year 2010. Yes, my last name begins with a “T”, but the way they organized us were by sections (S-Z). And I was the last. Lets just say I got quite the applause (definitely because everyone was excited to be done), but bigger than our school’s quarterback did. Take that Ricky Stanzi!! HA :)

see, the very last!

nothing like going out with a bang :)

A couple more from the ceremony ..

with my little brother, Cole :)

with my momma :)

Let’s just say I’m incredibly lucky. I had my brother, aunt, uncle, and two cousins drive to Iowa from Colorado and two of my best friends come from Chicago. My parents and grandparents came from my hometown. And many, many others who couldn’t make it, but were there with me in spirit! We took advantage of the night before graduation as my last hoorah in Iowa City. We went to a Japanese restaurant and ate around the teppanyaki grill.

trying to catch the egg. fail.

Then I went out with my friends and family downtown. We had an absolute blast.

my brother & I :)

got to love the car ride photos :)

thank god for college friends, who become forever friends :)

amazing night :)

And if the night before wasn’t enough for celebrating my graduation ..my parents had a party for me the night of in my hometown. They rented a space in a really nice bar/lounge downtown and decorated it beautifully.

the table set-up :)

The party was a “graduation/going away party”. It, like the night before, was a lot of fun.

My Family :)

Thank you brother Cole for coming to Iowa, just to see me graduate and help celebrate! (Wish you could have stayed for Christmas). And to my parents, thank you for everything ..and for hosting my graduation party. It was beautiful and I loved it! (You deserve more thanks than that, but I do not have enough time in the day to write it all out) LOVE YOU BOTH :)

two important people :)

momma/daughter combo. friends for almost 20 years :)

the people who made it 'til the end of the night :)

Thank you everyone for helping me celebrate my graduation. And to everyone who came from out-of-town, it means the world truly! I am no longer a “student,” but have joined the elite status of University of Iowa Alumni ;) And I must say, it feels great. Real world ..here I come!

PS. TODAY, WEDNESDAY, THURSDAY, FRIDAY …BLAST OFF, TAKE OFF: moving day :) ..that’s 3 days ’til NEW YORK CITY.

(I’ll be posting daily this week!!)

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “It’s about time!”

  1. Jim McGreevey says:

    Oops! So busy reading the content and looking at the pictures, I overlooked the Big Apple indication for your move! Maybe I’ll see you next September when my Nam buddy and I visit in September! Ha!

  2. Jim McGreevey says:

    Hey Chels! – Congrats! on graduation. I had seen Shell just before the holidays and asked her if all was set for your graduation. She said that you had e-mailed her that you would be talking to her soon, so we both hoped greatly that all was going to go smoothly in terms of your finals! Best of luck in the job market – you’ll make a great employee for a lucky employer. Let me know what you end up doing and where that “Big City” is that you wrote about! Enjoyed working with you while at the U! – JimMcG

  3. shell says:

    Congratulations Chelsea! I hope NY is ready for you,
    Shell

Leave a Reply

