“what do lilacs and to do lists have in common?”

I accidentally, unintentionally made the best decision ever last spring when I created my schedule and lazily decided to take “Relaxation Techniques“. YES, it is a university class, worth 1 credit hour. I have officially reached what I would classify as “life overload” or my “maximum stress point”. And I NEED this class. So thank you to myself for scheduling what I thought would simply be an easy A.

Today we discussed how we know we are stressed, what makes us stressed, and how we relieve stress. It truly helps to hear what other people have to say ..and the techniques they use. So following discussion, we learned & practiced our first technique. A “body scan,” which is done by targeting all muscle groups that carry stress (head, neck, shoulders, hands, etc). BUT what I took out of class was my new found, stress relieving breathing technique. Our teacher told us to inhale, thinking about breathing in clean air in the form of white, blue or clouds. Then exhale by letting your stress leave your body, in the color of red or black. So I begin, and ..as I inhale color white, blue? Nope, my head sees lilacs or light purple. Who knew light purple was my stress relieving color? Not me! Then as I was exhaling, my mind immediately pictured my to do list saying “do this, do this, do this …” and faded out the further I got with my exhale. And guess what? It HELPED. My constant state of stress may have found a temporary relief.

stress reliever? yes :)

If you’re stressed ..try closing your eyes and concentrate on your breathing. You may be surprised by the images that help you relax.
ps. straight from my teacher ..alcohol is a valid form of stress relief (in a social atmosphere & done in moderation).

thank you for the technique teacher :)

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in Health.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

