“life is a runaway train you can’t wait to jump on” -sugarland.

I was driving back to my parent’s house the other day and heard the song “Time of Your Life” by Greenday. It brought me back to an exact moment ..I was standing at my high school graduation open house, the song was playing in the background, and I was thinking in my head how sad it was to see this chapter of my life end. But also, how excited I was to begin my next: college!! I thought high school had flown by, but little did I know college would pass at an even more uncomfortable speed. It would be best compared with the speed of light, because honestly the years are blurred.

may 2006. just yesterday.

One day I am counting down the days to my high school graduation, and the next thing I know, I’m 60 days away from being a college alumni. Strange! Something that has become overly apparent to me lately is ..present moments are not treasured until they are memories, UNLESS the present moments are a part of a chapter’s end. I have loved every second of college, but I have not appreciated it the way I do now. Each day comprises one of my last as a student. Every day, every moment must be treasured more than the ones that have come before. But wait, why do people wait to the end to appreciate what they have or had? Why do I have to think back to memories made and wish I made more while I had the chance? This ends here!! My new chapter ..life after college, life in New York City ..will be lived by a person who wants to make the most of each moment, each opportunity. I will not wait until the end of “Chapter New York City” to make the most of it.

my "chapter NYC" to do list :)

Why not have a to do list ready, right?! Don’t worry. I will do MUCH more. I am using this book as a “get off your butt” assistant, for the days I want to be lazy! A motivational tool you might say! :)  I want to ensure I make the most of each day as a New Yorker!!!

“Another turning point, a fork stuck in the road.
Time grabs you by the wrist, directs you where to go.
So make the best of this test, and don’t ask why.”

halloween 2007. my absolute best friends :)
my 21st birthday :)
the boy I snagged in college :)
my mom & I tailgating. sophomore year :)
BVU soccer days. freshmen year :)

 

I’ll spread my wings

And I’ll learn how to fly
Though it’s not easy to tell you goodbye
I gotta take a risk
Take a chance
Make a change

And breakaway…


About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

