mexican fiesta date night.

I love an excuse for a themed dinner, or party. [Though it’s occasionally “because I felt like it“]. But this night in particular, it was a temporary farewell to Jeff. (He’s on a business trip for 5 days). So ..I planned a Mexican-themed night. Starting with ..

The welcome sign. (Courtesy of The Dating Divas)

I almost hate to be giving up where I go for date ideas, but they’re amazing. So, meet The Dating Divas. (We also had a Chinese-themed date night, courtesy of the Divas; try the “Wok Tok” game. Jeff & I were laughing for hours). Back to the sign [the post-it, specifically], “a drunkin’, tootin’ good time” is my take on humor. [margs, mexican food ..funny? no? at least a little?].

First thing I think of when I hear “Mexican” – margaritas. I found a great recipe for Strawberry Mango Margaritas by {Ali} at Gimme Some Oven. I set up my bar, with the recipe on hand..

Strawberry Mango Margaritas

  • 2 cups frozen strawberries
  • 1 mango
  • 2 1/2 cups crushed ice
  • 1/2 cup tequila
  • 2 tbsp fresh squeezed lime juice
  • 1/4 cup sugar [I omitted this ingredient]
  • 3 tbsp cointreau

(Blend it up! Makes approx. 4 margs).

And up for dinner – Shredded Chicken Enchiladas (which I’ve made before, and LOVED).

[The recipe courtesy of {Lacey} at A Sweet Pea Chef]

Ingredients

  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 can enchilada sauce
  • salt & pepper
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I used 3)
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar
  • 1 cup monterrey jack cheese (I used a mexican blend)
  • Cilantro (I omitted)
  • 12 6-inch tortillas (I used flour)

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Put the garlic & the enchilada sauce in deep skillet/pan to boil. Sprinkle salt & pepper on the chicken breasts. Then place them in the sauce pan! Reduce the heat, cover, and cook thoroughly [15-20ish mins].

Take the chicken out, cool the sauce & the chicken. Then comes the fun .. two forks, back to back, & shred that chicken.

Put the chicken in a large bowl. + 1/2 cup monterrey jack & cheddar cheese. + some cilantro. And stir ..

Spray the baking dish [9×13]. Wrap the chicken mixture up in the tortillas. Place in baking dish, seam-side down. Approximately 10-12 enchiladas, based on how much filling you like [I like a lot]. Spray the tortillas [such a great idea! Prevents from cracking]. Now cook ..

  • Uncovered, 8-10 mins. (when you start seeing golden)
  • Reduce temp. to 400 degrees
  • Pour the remaining enchilada sauce over the enchiladas & sprinkle remaining cheese!
  • Lightly cover w/ aluminum foil (don’t burn your fingers!)
  • Cook for 20 mins.
  • Take out, uncover, & place back in for 5-10 mins (make sure that cheese is golden)

Done & Delicious.

My side dish: (sorry to do it) 90 second rice. whoops.

Try the margaritas. Taste the enchiladas. Visit The Dating Divas.

& have an amazing date night <3

About chelset

Born and raised Iowan ..uprooting my life and moving to the big city. Many adjustments will be made along the way ..but what's life without some risk?
This entry was posted in recipes. and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to mexican fiesta date night.

  1. Pingback: valentine’s day prep. | little lessons in a BIG city

Leave a Reply

